Tied for the Championship at
    the Bloomsburg Tournament



    2006 DKI Place Winners


    1st - Mark Focht - 130                          4th - Kyle Kunkel - 152
    1st - Matt Brode - 135                          5th - Nate Zeigler - 171
    2nd - Josh Zukus - 160                         5th - Kevin Machay - 112
    3rd - Zane Bachert - 285                       6th - Pat Guy - 125
    4th - Matt Stewart - 140



    Mark Focht - 1st Place - 130
    Matt Brode - 1st Place - 135
    Josh Zukus - 2nd Place - 160
    Zane Bachert - 3rd Place - 285
    Matt Stewart - 4th Place - 140
    Kyle Kunkel - 4th Place - 152



    Kevin Machay - 5th Place - 112



    Nate Zeigler - 5th place - 171



    Pat Guy - 6th Place - 125


    Junior High Team places 2nd at PGA Tournament







    Below...Team champion Tamaqua Blue Raiders fron the Catty Duels
    Front -  Managers -Chelsea Jones, Jackie Stewart
    Row 1 - Matt Stewart, Lucas Arndt, Kyke Kunkel, Zane Bachert, Josh Zukus, Matt Benek
    Row 2 - Steve Kurtz, Dominic Chickilly, Nate Zeigler,Brandon Turner, Brandon Mace, Zach 
    Row 3 - Mike Valentine, Jay Pilla, Justin Miller, Jarod Mahoney,
    Row 4 -  Anthony Hauser, Kevin Machay, Joe Zaprasney, Mark Focht, Matt Brode
    Row 5 - Coach Charlie Bachert, Coach Greg Stewart, Head Coach Jim McCabe
    JH Wins the Tri Valley Tourn.

    The Tamaqua junior matmen got back on track by storming in to Tri-Valley and rolling over the competition.  In a field of 10 teams, Tamaqua placed 1st at the Brent Harner Memorial Tournament.  All 14 Tamaqua wrestlers participating placed in the top 3 of their respective weight classes.  Crowned champion were Tyler Rynkiewicz, Josh Turner, Brandon Silkowski, Kolby Mashack, Travis Veronsky, Garth Lakitsky, Keith Oliphant, and Josh Baran. Earning silver medals were Alex Sanchez, Matt Sanchez, Brandon Danko, and Kyle Oliver.  Placing third were Philip Christman and Tom Robin. Kolby Mashack was selected as the outstanding wrestler for the tournament.

    JH TV

    -Team with awards

    First row: Kolby Mashack, Josh Turner, Keith Oliphant, Tyler Rynkiewicz, Travis Veronsky, Garth Lakitsky, and Josh Baran. 


    Middle row: Brandon Silkowski (in green), Tom Robin, Alex Sanchez


    Back row: Coach Rynkiewicz, Philip Christman, Matt Sanchez, Head coach Sanchez, Coach Mashack, Brandon Danko, Kyle Oliver, Coach Bachert.



    -Mashack with coaches George Sanchez (L), Coach and father Jon Mashack (R), Coaches Rynkiewicz (L) and Bachert (R) in back.


    JH Wins the Schuylkill League Tourn.

    The Tamaqua JH wrestlers earned Tamaqua"s first ever Schuylkill League championship. Tamaqua had 14 wrestlers and all placed in the top 6 of their respective weight classes. Tamaqua edged Blue Mountain, who placed second.  Mount Carmel and Shamokin placed 3rd & 4th, respectively.  Tamaqua had 3 champions.  Tyler Rynkiewicz, Kolby Mashack, and Garth Lakitsky were crowned champion.  Earning second place were Josh Turner, Brandon Silkowski, Tom Robin, and Kyle Oliver.  Placing third were Philip Christman, Travis Veronsky, and Josh Baran.  Taking 4th were Alex Sanchez and Brandon Danko.  Keith Oliphant took 5th and Ryan Palsgrove took 6th place.




    JHLeague Champs




    JHLeague Champs2


    Pictured (l-r) first row: Kolby Mashack, Garth Lakitsky, Josh Turner, Tyler Rynkiewicz. 

    Second row: Coach Jon Mashack, Kyler Oliver, Alex Sanchez, Philip Christman, Tom Robin, Brandon Silkowski, Brandon Danko. Back row: Head Coach George Sanchez, Ryan Palsgrove, Travis Veronsky, Josh Baran, Keith Oliphant, and Coach Charlie Bachert.

    JH Wins the District XI "AA" Tourn.
    The Tamaqua junior high wrestlers earned another tournament and school first.  This time it"s the District XI "AA" team title.  The JH wrestlers entered 13 wrestlers and had 5 medalists to capture the school"s first ever JH wrestling District title.  Tamaqua finished 8th overall, surging past Lehighton, who was in the "AA" lead going in to the final round.  It was a complete team effort and Tamaqua benefited from strong finishes by their wrestlers.  Kolby Mashack lost a hard fought battle in the finals to earn a second place.  Garth Lakitsky battled back to capture 3rd.  Brandon Danko won 5th, Philip Christman won 7th while Kyle Oliver settled for 8th.  Others wrestlers who contributed to the title were Tyler Rynkiewicz, Alex Sanchez, Evan Mashack, Josh Turner, Tom Robin, Travis Veronsky, Keith Oliphant, and Ryan Palsgrove.  The Tamaqua wrestlers complete a season where they captured crowns at the Schuylkill League and Tri-Valley tournaments and went 11-5 in dual meets.

    JH D11 Champs

    Photo: (l-r) Coach Jon Mashack, Kyle Oliver, Coach George Sanchez, Kolby Mashack, Coach Charlie Bachert, Brandon Danko. Missing from photo: Garth Lakitsky & Philip Christman.
Last Modified on February 19, 2007